Anderson To Stay As Newtown Police Chief

By Pattie Price

Despite the rumors that are circulating throughout Newtown (Delaware County, Pa) Dennis Anderson will remain chief of police. A motion to re-appoint him for another year was pulled from the official agenda just prior to the meeting.
According to Solicitor Rich Sokorai, there is no verbiage in the Second Class Township regulations that requires the Supervisors to appoint a police chief every year. However, the Supervisors have made that appointment every year.
Prior to re-organization John Nawn and Ed Partridge were sworn in by Magisterial District Judge Lee Hunter. Partridge’s wife Mary Therese held the Bible for him as did Nawn’s wife, Barbara.
Following the swearing in, Newtown Republican Chairman Mike Gillin invited residents to witness Hunter’s swearing in ceremony Wednesday at 10 a.m. in Media.
Reorganization was no surprise when Joseph Catania, Esq. was re-elected Chairman of the Board of Supervisors and Dr. Ross Lambert Vice Chairman. Every vote last night was unanimous.
Mike Trio was appointed Township Manager at a salary of $100,000 a year.
All the appointments were obviously decided prior to the meeting as they were read from a script.
Other appointments include:
Chief Administrative Officer of the Pension Funds: Trio
Township Solicitor: Richard Sokorai of High Swartz
Acting Township Engineer: David Pennoni of Pennoni Associates, Inc. This is a temporary appointment as the Supervisors are awaiting other bids.
Vacancy Board Chairman: John McDevitt
Building Inspector: Building Underwriters, Inc.
Electrical Inspector: Building Underwriters, Inc.
Acting Sewage Enforcement Officer: Building Underwriters, Inc.  Plumbing Inspector: Building Underwriters, Inc.
Landscape Inspector/Arborist: Paul Coy
Health Officer: Joe Romano (Marple Township’s Health Officer).
Fire Marshall: Karl Keehn
Assistant Fire Marshall: Lambert
Emergency Management Coordinator: Lambert
Assistant Emergency Management Coordinator: Karl Keehn
Appointed Auditors: Rainer and Co.


Planning Commission
    4 year term: Gene Capaldi
    4 year term: Curt Silva
    3 year term: Nicholas Stephanou
    3 year term: Tina Roberts-Lightcap

Zoning Board
    5 year term: Thomas Barnes
    Alternate: Angelo Mancini

Municipal Authority
    5 year term: Joseph Sweeney
    Alternate: Angelo Mancini

Leisure Service
    3 year term: Marty Milligan
    3 year term: Dave Dunn
    1 year term (Supervisor): Supervisor Joseph Catania

Library Board
    3 year term: John Battista
    3 year term: Sonja Haas
    3 year term: Gilda Schwalb

Environmental Advisory Council
    3 year term: Michael McGraw
    3 year term: Ellen Goss
    2 year term: Judy Carr
    2 year term: Jane Rowan

Parks & Recreation Board
    5 year term: Chris Anderson
    3 year term: Bob Blaisee
    3 year term: Bill Ebbecke
    3 year term: Paul Seligson
    2 year term: Nick Cocco


Police Department: Joseph Catania
Non-uniformed Personnel: Ed Partridge
Police Pension Board: George Wood
Non-Uniformed Pension Board: George Wood
Planning Commission: John Nawn
Municipal Authority: John Nawn
Leisure Services: Joseph Catania
Library: George Wood
Environmental Advisory Council: Dr. H Ross Lambert
Parks & Recreation Board: Ed Partridge
Fire Department and Emergency Medical Service: Dr. H. Ross Lambert

Supervisors Meeting Schedule for 2012
January 23
February 13
February 27
March 12
March 26
April 9
April 20 (road inspection)
April 23
May 14
May 29
June 11
June 25
July 9
August 13
September 10
September 24
October 9
October 12 (road inspection)
October 22
November 13
November 26
December 10.

Holiday Schedule for 2012

Jan. 2 – New Years’ Eve
Jan. 16 – Martin Luther King
Feb. 20 – President’s Day
April 6 – Good Friday
May 28 – Memorial Day
July 4 – Independence Day
Sept. 3 – Labor Day
Sept. 25 Yom Kippur
Oct. 8 – Columbus Day
Nov. 12 – Veterans’ Day
Nov. 22 – Thanksgiving
Dec. 24 – Christmas Eve
Dec. 25 – Christmas Day

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.